Cos. Tyrone, Donegal, Londonderry & Fermanagh Ireland Genealogy Research

Official Website of the Mailing List


Strabane, Co. Tyrone, Northern Ireland Agricultural Society Annual Ploughing Match Award Winners, March 1838

Extracted from the Londonderry Sentinel
Transcribed, Compiled and Submitted by
Len Swindley, Melbourne, Australia


March 24, 1838


On Monday, the 5th, the Annual Ploughing Match of this branch took place in a field belonging to Thomas Brown, Esq., Milltown, Ballymagorry [Leckpatrick parish, Co Tyrone]. Twenty well appointed ploughs stated for the premiums, and, from the close competition., it was with difficulty that the judges could decide. In the evening about fifty gentlemen and farmers sat down to an excellent dinner at Sims’ Hotel, served up in his usual good style – the wines excellent – John Humphreys, Esq., Provost, presided, and James R. Auchinleck, Esq., Thomas Browne, Esq and Robert McCrea, Esq., acted as croupiers. After the removal of the cloth, the Queen, Lord Lieutenant, the Marquis of Abercorn, and several appropriate toasts were drunk. The names of the successful candidates were then read by the Secretary as follows:

Plough Owners Residence To the Owner of the Plough To the Ploughman
1. Mr. William Hamilton Coolaghymore [Co. Donegal] £2.0.0 £1.5.0
2. Mr. Samuel McCrea Farmhill [Co. Tyrone] £1.10.0 £1.2.6
3. Mr. Robert Leitch Magherycolton [Co. Tyrone] £1.5.0 0.17.6
4. Mr. Daniel Boyle Argury [Co. Donegal] £1.0.0 0.15.0
5. Mr. Thomas Blair Magherashanvally [Co. Donegal] 0.17.6 0.12.6
6. Mr. William McLaughlin Argury [Co. Donegal] 0.15.0 0.10.0
7. Mr. John Woods Sion [Co. Tyrone] 0.12.6 0.7.6
8. Mr. William McCrea Farmhill [Co. Tyrone] 0.10.0 0.5.0
9. Mr. Galbraith Lowther Cavanalee [Co. Tyrone] 0.7.6 0.2.6
10. Mr. David Blair Broadlee [Co. Donegal] 0.5.0 0.2.6