Cos. Tyrone, Donegal, Londonderry & Fermanagh Ireland Genealogy Research

Official Website of the Mailing List


Clogher Union Farming Society Annual Ploughing Match, Aughnacloy, Co. Tryone, February 1856

Extracted from the Tyrone Constitution, February 27 1856
Transcribed, Compiled and Submitted by
Len Swindley, Melbourne, Australia


The annual ploughing match of the above society was held at Killybrick [Aughnacloy, Carnteel Parish]], on the 17th inst. The day was very favourable, and, in consequence, there was a large and respectable attendance on the ground to witness the proceedings. Among the members we observed –

The Hon. and Very Rev. Dean MAUDE

Whitney MOUTRAY, Esq.

Wm. SCOTT, Esq., M.D.

Mr. John BRYAN

Mr. Thomas REID



Mr. Samuel RICHEY

Mr. William SIMPSON


Mr. James TODD

Rev. Wm. MOUTRAY; &c., &c.

Seventeen ploughs started at the appointed time, and all of them executed their work in a very creditable manner. – Whitney MOUTRAY, Esq., entertained the judges, committee and owners of ploughs competing, to an excellent dinner, after the proceedings had terminated.

The following are the prizes as awarded by the judges:

1st prize; Mr. Joseph TRIMBLE, Screeby – plough held by son

2nd: Mr. James BLAKELY, Prilisk – plough held by self

3rd: Mr. John STEWART, Prilisk – plough held by son

4th: Mr. Robert McCOY, Corbo – plough held by servant

5th: Mr. John LENDRUM, Broomhill – plough held by servant

6th: Mr. James SCOTT, Waring Bank – plough held by servant

7 th: Mr. James RAMSAY – plough held by servant

8th: Mrs Eliza CAMPBELL, Norchosay – plough held by son

9th: Mr. John McWILLIAMS, Tatradavnay – plough held by self

The judges were:

Mr. SLOAN, Gislaw

Mr. Fleming WILSON, Timpanay

Mr. Stewart REA, Ballinapottogue