Cos. Tyrone, Donegal, Londonderry & Fermanagh Ireland Genealogy Research

Official Website of the Mailing List


Raphoe Medical Committee, Raphoe Parish, Strabane Poor Law Union, Co. Donegal, Ireland 1852

Extracted from the Minutes of the Board of Guardians, Strabane Workhouse (PRONI)
Transcribed, Compiled and Submitted by
Len Swindley, Melbourne, Australia


The Poor Law Union of Strabane covered much of North Co. Tyrone and across the Foyle River in East Donegal. Parishes falling within the Union in CO. TYRONE were: Donagheady (part), Leckpatrick, Camus (Strabane), Urney (part), and Ardstraw (part); in CO. DONEGAL: Urney (part), Clonleigh, Raphoe (part) and Taughboyne (part).

The Union Workhouse was located in Strabane on the Derry Road; a section of which survives as the offices of Derry & Strabane District Council. Workhouses were grim places in an era prior to social security and pensions, and only the destitute and desperate sought admission.

The following gentleman were appointed to the several medical committees of the Union February 24 1852:


1. Marquis of ABERCORN, Baronscourt, Newtownstewart

2. Robert G. MONTGOMERY, Esq., Convoy House, Convoy, Raphoe

3. Raphoe Electoral Division: Joseph BROWN

4. Mr David McCONAGHY, Tullydonnell, Raphoe

5. Mr Harvey TAYLOR, Craighadoos, St. Johnstown

6. Mr Henry J. HAMILTON, Trentagh, St. Johnston

7. Mr Alexander WHITE, Clashygowan, St. Johnstown

8. Lord Edward CHICHESTER, Deanery, Raphoe

9. Mr William WITHEROW, Ardvarnock, Raphoe

10. Mr Alexander FINDLAY*, Tullyrap, Raphoe

11. Mr Joseph CHAMBERS, Brockagh, Raphoe

12. Mr James ALEXANDER, Drummenan, St. Johnston

13. Mr Samuel RAMSAY, Raphoe

*Appointment cancelled


Further Raphoe Parish records can be viewed here:

Welcome to the Premier Website & Research Tool for Cos. Tyrone, Donegal, Londonderry & Fermanagh Genealogy

Raphoe Parish Records, Co. Donegal

Can’t find your ancestor?

Search the Every Name Index

and Every Word Search