Cos. Tyrone, Donegal, Londonderry & Fermanagh Ireland Genealogy Research

Official Website of the Mailing List


Election of Poor Law Guardians of Omagh Union, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland 1846-7

Extracted from the Tyrone Constitution
Transcribed, compiled and submitted by Len Swindley, Melbourne, Australia

[Omagh Poor Law Union covered the parishes of Ardstraw (part), Cappagh (all), Clogherny (all), Donacavey (part), Dromore (part), Drumragh (all), Longfield East (all), & Termonmaguirk (part); the workhouse being located in Omagh]

Extracted from the Tyrone Constitution,

April 10, 1846


For Year ending 25th March, 1847


Sir Hugh STEWART, Bart., Samuel GALBRAITH, Samuel VESEY, George HILL, Thomas HOUSTON, Charles R. SCOTT, Charles ECCLES, Alexander McCAUSLAND, Henry L. ST. GEORGE and Francis ELLIS, Esqrs.


Omagh Division, Daniel AUCHINLECK and George BUCHANAN, Esqrs.

Mt-joy Forest East, Mr. David SCOTT

Mt-joy West, Mr. Robert DENNY

Gortnacreagh, Mr. James FULLERTON

Dunbreen, Mr. John McCONNELL

Mountfield, Mr. Andrew McFARLAND

Killyclogher, Mr. John BUCHANAN, Killyclogher

Loughmacrory, Mr. Henry TODD

Carrickmore, Mr. Samuel JOHNSTON

Craggan, Mr. John QUIN

Athenry, Mr. Andrew Thomas CLARKE

Sixmilecross, Mr. John BARCLAY

Mullaghslin, Mr James BUCHANAN, Deroran

Camowen, Mr. John McKENNY

Beragh, Mr. David CLEMENTS

Dervaghroy, Mr. Samuel MACKAY

Seskinore, Mr. James WILSON

Derrybard, Mr. James ANDERSON

Tattymoile, Mr. Hugh WARNOCK

Fintona, Mr. James BUCHANAN, Fintona

Fallaghearn, Mr. Samuel YOUNG

Tullyclunagh, Mr. Richard GRAHAM

Greenan, Mr. James SPROULE

Dromore, Mr. Archibald ALEXANDER

Camderry, Mr. Alexander McCAULEY

Drumquin, Edward SPROULE, Esq.

Mullagharn, Mr. John GRAHAM

Loughmuck, Mr. Robert HUNTER

Clanabogan, Mr. James IRWIN

There was only one division contested – Mountjoy West – the candidates were Mr. Robert DENNY, of Lisnagir and Mr. James BUCHANAN, of Omagh – majority for Mr Denny, 36.

JOSEPH KNIGHT, Returning Officer