Cos. Tyrone, Donegal, Londonderry & Fermanagh Ireland Genealogy Research

Official Website of the Mailing List


Election of Poor Law Guardians for Castlederg Union, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland 1863-4

Extracted from the Londonderry Journal, April 4, 1863
Transcribed, compiled and submitted by
Len Swindley, Melbourne, Australia

Castlederg Poor Law Union covered the parishes of URNEY (part), Termonamongan (all), ARDSTRAW (part), LONGFIELD WEST (all); the workhouse being located in Castlederg.


For Year ending 25th March, 1864

Bomackatall Mr. William GAMBLE Drumgallon
Castlebane Mr. David JOHNSTON Castlederg
Castlederg Mr. Robert McCAY Castlederg
Clare Mr. John FORBES Castlederg
Clunahill Mr. William PATTERSON Coolnananagh [Coolcrunaght?]
Corgary Mr. John HARPER Aughearan
Drumquin Mr. John GIVEN Drumlegagh
Killen Mr. John JOHNSTON Edenreagh
Killeter Mr. Neal BROWN Killeter
Lisnacloon Mr. James KNOX Kilehan
Listymore Mr. David PORTER Erginagh
Magheracrigan Mr. Andrew Thomas LOVE Magheracrigan
Maghernageeragh Mr. Samuel CALDWELL Maghernageeragh
Maghernageeragh Mr. Wm. HENDERSON Maghernageeragh
West Longfield Mr. William ROBB Ardrawer


Chairman – William KNOX, Esq.

Vice-Chairman – Joseph SCOTT, Esq.

Deputy Vice-Chairman – Thomas SPROULE, Esq.

Clerk – Edward HEMPHILL

Treasurer – Thomas LYLE, Esq., Ulster Bank